"Kick-Ass" is exactly what it says on the label. There's "kick" (literal violence and fast-paced action), there's "ass" (the idiot or as a sexual term), and it's all-around pretty vulgar. In spite of (or because of) these facts, the film does "kick ass" in the sense of being one of the most entertaining movies released this year.
When first hearing about this movie a few months ago, the first thing that comes to mind is "oh look, a 'Watchmen' ripoff." That thought was not entirely correct. Although it continues the deconstructionist perspective made popular through Alan Moore's opus, "Kick-Ass" is a much more conventional story. It would more accurate to say "Kick-Ass" has more in common with Batman or the Spirit: typical people with no powers track down criminals because it's fun, profitable, and feels good. The only difference is that the characters are aware of and directly inspired by the superheroes of fiction.
The film's plot follows the classic superhero tropes as closely as a "BIFF!" follows a Batman right hook. There's the Kick-Ass origin story, narrated by the eponymous protagonist, which is only a slightly more realistic look on the early growing pains for teenage Peter Parker in Raimi's "Spiderman." Big Daddy is Batman is all but name (Hit-Girl is the character who stretches things a bit). The plot is very typical: treachery, fake death, hero/sidekick versus villain/sidekick final battle, and of course a very large Chekhov's gun. Oh, and there's some boring teenage romance subplot that apparently wasn't in the comic.
What makes "Kick-Ass" stand out is action, and that action is centered around the infamous character Hit-Girl, making this probably the first film with interesting action since "The Matrix" ruined it forever. Hit-Girl is by far the most competent of all the heroes in "Kick-Ass," as well as the most violent and foul-mouthed of any character in the film. Oh, and she's 12 years old, and played by an actress roughly the same age. Many are citing this as (1) vile and immoral for a child actor to be doing and (2) a poor example to children. While I am no apologist for this film, let me make a quick digression to address this.
First, Hit-Girl is an unrealistic child superhero only in how restrained she is. If anyone gave a middle-schooler the ability to physically take out anyone (which Hit-Girl pretty much does) I don't think he or she would keep it to only "bad guys." The kid would be whooping kids on the playground just for kicks, and doing it with a larger quantity (but poorer quality) of profane language. So is Hit-Girl a vile abomination or a typical middle-schooler? Probably something in-between (if there is a difference).
Second, there may be pretty colors and a lot of action, but "Kick-Ass" is NOT a family movie. I know this happened with "Watchmen" too. Parents can do what they want, but at least check online to see the content of a RATED 'R' FILM before taking children to it. There shouldn't be complaints about "bad examples" from a film that is not meant to be for children. This has a lot to do with the Western idea that comics are cartoons are "kids' media," but that is a post for another day.
Anyway, despite its decidedly family un-friendly moments, there is a running theme about doing the right thing, just because it is right. As the protagonist says, "With no power comes no responsibility," but that doesn't mean we should shirk from doing the right thing. Our world doesn't have Spiderman or Superman to do it for us, real people need to step up and help their fellow man. Perhaps that is what the heroes have been trying to teach us all along.
"Kick-Ass" expertly finds the balance that makes an action movie bearable. The plot is nothing special, but the action makes up for it. The story and characters can be vulgar, but also have redeeming qualities. A good litmus test is to watch the mature trailer: if you can bear the vulgarity, you should have an enjoyable experience.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment